The First, The one that got away

So in my first attempt to write this down, i hope you readers will enjoy reading this just as how much i enjoyed writing this.

I believe I may have fucked up
And poked an open wound.
I thought it had closed over
But it may have been too soon.

I thought I had got over
All those wasted years.
I thought I had forgotten
What it’s like when you are near.

It’s something like two magnets
The attraction can’t be stopped
The lows are so low,
But the highs just can’t be topped.

When I was nothing but a kid
At night I prayed for you.
You might not believe it,
But I swear it’s true.

I begged the gods to let me have you
Before I went to bed.
From the moment I met you
I knew what was ahead.

The day we burned our lives to ash
It was like the whole world died,
All the good songs ended,
And all the poets lied.

After all of these years
I thought it would be ok,
If I kept you always
An arm length away.

But with just a handful of words
You still shake up my foundations,
A simple sentence lighting
Huge flames of imagination.

But I can’t make a promise
I’m not sure that I can keep,
So I should probably let you
Try to be happy without me.

Leave a comment